Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-04 - 10:25 p.m.

Don�t hate the soldiers��

Today I went to a peace rally cause my students weren�t back from their field trip on time to cover it�����. after quite a few people called the president a war monger and such��a twenty year old man stood up and said �I am a reservist�..and I�m not even sure what I feel about the war. But I respect all of you speaking out today and I happy to protect your right to say what you want to say but I would just ask that you please don�t hate the soldiers��don�t spit on them or disrespect them like we did after Vietnam.�

His voice was shaky. I think he was scared. I wasn�t sure what to think. I am still not sure if being against the war is respectful to my friends who have had to go overseas and serve. Most of the students I have don�t understand why we are going to war. It�s interesting how most of them equate this conflict with oil�..and not terrorism. Even my most conservative students are waffling on this�..

A high school student spoke and asked that we realize war is killing people. She spoke of her brother in the reserves. She did a good job expressing what she felt.

My dept head was there�.I guess for her son�.the one who joined the armed forces�.I have always thought he left cause he couldn�t deal with his step dad�..but maybe it is wrong of me to thing that��or incorrect����.

I don�t know�peace�.it�s just a word��but sometimes just a word can mean the world.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!